top of page

Early Years Foundation Stage Overview

Our Early Years department runs from Toddlers to Reception (approx. 14 months to 5 years of age) with Reception forming the first official year of schooling under the British National Curriculum system. 


Our standards for learning, care and development requirements are set by the British National Curriculum.  At St. Andrew’s, we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum, which places emphasis on holistic enquiry and play-based approaches. 


This learning focuses on seven key areas:


  • Physical Development

  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development

  • Communication & Language Development

  • Mathematics

  • Literacy

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design.  


Alongside this, we live and teach our school values:

Equality – Respect – Collaboration – Integrity – Endeavour - Creativity


We ensure that every child is included in the day-to-day activities and their needs are met to enable them to learn in their own way, in a safe environment.


We provide the three main characteristics of learning which are:

  • Playing and Exploring

  • Active Learning

  • Creative and Critical Thinking


We are proud to provide such a successful Early Years education model and believe that time spent in the SAIPS Early Years will teach your child to make friends, develop independence and learn new routines.


For more information on the EYFS Curriculum used

at St. Andrew’s, please visit:

bottom of page